A hole where it shouldn’t be

After a delightful walk round the woodland at Nostell Priory this morning

including watching the ducks waddle across the ice on the top of a lake 


I came home to find a thaw had taken place in the garden.

It therefore seemed fitting to continue enjoying the sunshine by doing some tidying up. 

Months ago, I noticed a hole in the hugelbed I had built using pine wood for the blueberry bush. This hasn’t happened to any of the other beds full of wood and I am wondering if an animal has buried its way in. 


Not wanting to disturb the bed, I simply covered up the hole with soil and will wait to see what happens next. In any case, I doubt I will be moving the blueberry bush to this new home in the next twelve months. The soil on top is too thin to plant a bush with substantial roots – the wood needs to decompose quite considerably, I would think, first.

So, I’ll keep the blueberry bush where it is for now and think about a Plan B.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Days out, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A hole where it shouldn’t be

  1. andy1076 says:

    That ‘Is’ unusual, but what would create a burrow like that? o.o

  2. mortaltree says:

    Very smart of you to wait for the hugelbed to break down. I did the opposite, and the mortality of blueberry bushes kept accumulating until I just decided to wait. I have learned since that the carbon of fresh wood binds up lots of the nitrogen in the soil, among other reasons it didn’t work out well.
    On the other hand, I have built a large hugelbed using big, long dead, standing trees that were ready to fall on my planting, covering them with a thick layer of soil on top, and the hill gave fantastic growth the same year. I wrote about the plants on it here if you’re interested in the details.
    https://mortaltree.wordpress.com/2013/10/14/roots-as-of-now/

    • Helen says:

      Thanks, I will read your post. The soil in my garden is only a thin layer, hence the thin layer over the wood and therefore in part why I am building the beds. Hopefully, it will work out in the end!

  3. Kalamain says:

    That hole may just have been on top of a void… It doesn’t look like it was dug out.
    With luck it won’t be anything bad.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

