The beach in winter

A few years ago, we stayed in Robin Hood’s Bay over Christmas. It’s a village nestled at the foot of cliffs on the North East coast of England. To start 2017, we have inadvertently been back there!

Boggle Hole is a youth hostel on the North East coast, nestled at the foot of cliffs. It is also cut off from the beach for most of the day because of the tides and overland it is a long, long walk to the nearest settlement… we tried it on the quest for milk.

Later that day, the tide went down and like other holidaymakers (and dog walkers), we took the opportunity to get onto the beach. And there was Robin Hood’s Bay, accessible for a short time, about half a mile along the coast.


I was surprised that the following were growing, considering how little light seemed to get into this narrow passage:


My daughter spotted the seal. I didn’t have any notion that we had them in the seas this far south.


Where I come from similarly has rocks protruding from the sand (called scars). However, the large, free-standing rocks, presumably moved by the waves, were another new one for me.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Days out, Gardening, Wildlife and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The beach in winter

  1. Looks beautiful there Helen, hope to visit one day!

  2. Natalia from BA says:

    Wonderful place to start the new year! Happy 2017, Helen.

  3. Julia once took a party of kids from the inner city to Boggle Hole, some had never been out of Nottingham before. It was a bit of a culture shock fo them.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

