World Cafe 

At the Leeds Permaculture Network social on Wednesday I ran my first session. In spite of having been a teacher for 25 years, I was a little nervous about running a workshop in this environment.

In the event, the people who had come along seemed to gain as much as the Network hopefully has. And of course, it was a boost to my confidence.

Guerrilla gardening, urban farming and permablitzing was the theme and now perhaps we have the foundations for such a project of our own.

The ideas on the post-it notes in the above photo were generated by discussion in the form of a World Cafe. Participants are divided into groups, each with a difffernt question. A scribe writes down the group’s ideas. Then all but the scribe move to different groups to discuss the other questions.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to World Cafe 

  1. streepie says:

    I love World Cafe Sessions!
    I hope that the ideas generated will lead to a great project.

  2. Cecilia says:

    This is really wonderful, World Cafe sessions are very great. Thanks for sharing.

  3. atkokosplace says:

    What a fabulous way to connect and learn! Love it. Happy new year Helen! 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

