Sorry Strawberries

As you may recall, if you’ve been reading my blog for a while, I am deliberating over a garden shed.

Ideally, I would like a potting shed. They are not only expensive but take up quite a lot of space, however. On the other hand, if the shed is to contain bikes, it will need to be big, anyway. Thus, decisions, decisions, decisions…

And while I’ve been deliberating over the type of shed, a simultaneous consideration has been how to break up the Wendy house, which stands right where the shed would be. Actually, the Wendy house is still where the shed would be – but it is no longer standing, at least not in the conventional sense of the word.


Hopefully, someone will take it away soon, so that I can start on the grisly job of moving the paving stones that form the patio to be the base for the shed. Equally, I hope the well and truly down trodden strawberries will recover – I couldn’t help but stand all over them yesterday, in my attempt to pull the playhouse apart.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sorry Strawberries

  1. Kalamain says:

    Will the council not take it away for you? Failing that, rip it apart, throw it in the back of the car and take it to the tip.

  2. patsquared2 says:

    Have you tried looking on Craigslist UK? It can take a bit of time to find what you’re looking for but I have gotten some great deals on everything from the furniture for my sewing room (looked for a year but got $2000 sewing and cutting table, wall cabinets and credenza for $300) to canning jars. And the price is usually right!

  3. I’m glad the Wendy House is going to a new home. Once you have the “blank slate” it might make it easier to sort out the details. A shed sounds marvelous.

    • Helen says:

      Just waiting for the couple who’ve bought it to get their bigger car, so they can take it away. Can’t wait!!

      I’m the meantime, we did some decluttering last night – another bag to charity. Still very few toys but I’ll keep working on it. At least they are not in my room 😉.

      • Well done! Those toys will go in time. One day she’ll just be ready to let them go. With some of my friends, it’s the promise of redoing/decorating the room. Suddenly they want grown up things, which can be as simple as a new coat of paint on the wall, grown up bedding and abandoned “treasures”. Don’t give up hope. And remember, you still get to determine what happens in your shared spaces. Good luck!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

