Wasps and strawberries

I’d wondered why forest gardens tended not to have blackberries until through foraging and generally going on genuine country walks I noticed lots of them growing wild. 

They are indeed a fabulous free food and there are plenty only minutes’ walk from my house. So, with my thornless variety producing suckers with thorns I decided that it had to come out last autumn.

But I was a bit gardened out. If anyone noticed a shortfall in my blogging output, this was largely due to the need for a break from gardening matters.

However, it being a sunny and warm (for January) afternoon, it was definitely time to get the spade and lift the blackberry bush out. Which in fact is all I had to do. Getting it into a bag to take to the municipal waste site was harder.

I did disturb a wasp which was presumably in hibernation, although it could be warm enough for her to have been foraging (vainly) for food. This being the case, I might have disturbed her on her deathbed instead.

Suffice to say, by the time I had fetched the phone to take a picture, the wasp had disappeared. On the other hand, it meant it was in my pocket when I cleared a patch of chard in preparation for the next hugel bed. For what did I see but a strawberry. Another of life’s mysteries!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Wasps and strawberries

  1. Karen says:

    Glad that wasp just flew away and didn’t retaliate against being disturbed. 😀

  2. gaiainaction says:

    Life, and gardens are full of surprises, pleasant ones mostly 🙂 Hope you are warmer than we are here at this moment Helen.

    • Helen says:

      What are your temperatures at the moment, Agnes?

      The garden is certainly full of surprises!

      • gaiainaction says:

        Here on Gozo we have had a few really cold days, well nights especially with temperatures going down to 5 or 7C during the day when the sun is out, which it usually is, it can get real warm. But the past few days we have had a nasty icy wind. Today was warmer again, and we are expecting to go up to 13C to 15C again over the next few day…………I would make a bad weather girl wouldn’t I hahaha 🙂

  3. I’ve had some painful encounters with thorns over the years, mostly from roses and our lemon tree. The thorns on the lemons are thick and sharp and hard to avoid when harvesting. I’ve invested in a pair or rose gloves, and they work really well. They’re also good for relocating lizards when the cat brings them indoors over the summer.

    • Helen says:

      I had heard about lemons having thorns! I might get a pair of rose gloves, as they could be useful when foraging.

      Your loving cat, bringing the lizards in 😊.

      • Oh yes, Mr. Mouse loves to bring in “gifts”. The poor little things. One summer I was sitting on the floor and he dropped one in my lap. I shrieked at the unexpected.

        Mike fixed our screen door, and then the cat figures out a way to dislodge a corner and in he comes with another lizard.

        We trap and release with cardboard and a plastic container, or we pick them up with the gloves. Sometimes they are dead on arrival, but most of the time they’re ok. Sometimes he lets them loose in the house and I find them cowering against the baseboard. Never a dull moment around here.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

