That archeological feeling

I’d been determined to do some work in the garden today, so was pleased that we had sun rather than snow.

The first job was to dig up some Jerusalem artichokes, which typically were not as abundant as I would like. However, the clay soil no doubt impacts on them as much as it does carrots and beetroot.

The main point of putting on gardening boots and gloves was to find out how easy or otherwise it might be to lift the flag stones on my patio. So, I next started to clear away the soil from one and was at least pleased that this job seemed manageable.


It had been on the back of my mind that the flag stones might have been cemented down – and it is possible as I excavate further this will turn out to be the case. I hope not, though, as the shed will need a base and it makes sense to re-use what is already available.

It would also be nice to have a pergola instead of a patio. I like the idea of vegetation shielding the diningroom doors (south facing) in summer but dying back to let in the light in winter.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to That archeological feeling

  1. Kalamain says:

    Did you not get snow this morning? We had a bit… More than I care to look at!

    Did you pull up a flag stone in the end then?

  2. You’ve got lots of fun things planned, Helen. I love this sort of project. I hope it turns out that the pavers can all come out without too much effort. That’s a big job though.

  3. andy1076 says:

    When gardening has turned into an excavation / discovery, that’s when things are getting interesting for sure 😀

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

