The new year itch 


The above photo heralds the start of sowing season. The packet said April for the radish seeds but I’ve sown them outside earlier and had success – albeit on an allotment with different soil.

It’s not that I’m especially wanting radishes, although they are a pleasant enough addition to a salad. It’s more I got the seeds, along with the pot and compost, for Christmas. 

I was actually quite surprised by the number of seeds in the packet, that is, far more than I’d expected in view of the size of the pot. Needless to say, I haven’t used them all.

So, what’s the plan so these radishes, should they germinate? Well, as they would have a hard time in my soil, I will put them in a planter with compost – indoors.

And now the sowing bug has got me, I am going to have a look through the seeds I bought myself and see what else I can start off…..

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The new year itch 

  1. andy1076 says:

    I just hope this winter will pass by already so I too can start planning on what to watch grow next 🙂

  2. Emma@ Misfit Gardening says:

    Ooh I hope they all grow! I’ve been starting seeds since December in old salad containers by the window for my tomatoes to hopefully have an early harvest.

  3. It sounds like your have been bitten by the gardening bug. Our ground is frozen solid outside. Snow storms all around our area. It is like we have been in the eye of the storm. this seems to be the coldest part of the year thanks to Global warming. I am still awaiting on an operation. I have time still to dream about gardening this year. I tell you once you get bitten by the gardening bug there is not cure thankfully LOL.
    Honey

    • Helen says:

      Good luck with your operation, Honey.

      Your weather sounds really awful. I hope the storms will abate very soon. In the past, when was the worst month for you?

      • Thanks for best wishes on the upcoming operation. I am just happy that I finally have a diagnosis. November, December and January were the harshest snow storms.It is like winter is a little delayed and has gotten a lot shorter.We had no snow for Christmas.
        Honey

        • Helen says:

          Our winters are erratic but I don’t know if that is really a sign of climate change. If you are used to snow at Christmas it must have been sad to have been without.

  4. What fun! I scattered some winter seeds last month with mixed results. I’m still planning in my head for the upcoming seasons. It’s fun.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

