The snowdrop

Coming home from the school run just now, I noticed a white flower at the edge of the front garden. 


Now, baring in mind that this garden is northeast-facing and direct sunlight is blocked by the roofs of houses across the road during December and January, I am particularly pleased to see a little flora appearing.

Hopefully, from now on there will be a swathe of colour to come home to. The hebe is also in its glory, with pink tipped leaves and the yucca has withstood the winter (including strong winds), so I feel I am starting to make some progress out the front.

Incidentally, the kale I planted in the front seems to be doing at least as well as the kale out the back. Whether that is because it is more sheltered or for some other reason, I can’t say, but it’s time I ate some of it!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The snowdrop

  1. Kalamain says:

    I was in Ponte this morning and I saw a display of them just by the Haribo factory. They had quite a few patches pushing up.
    None of their daffies were showing yet though.

    • Helen says:

      Daffs would be a bit of a surprise…

      • Kalamain says:

        Mine were just peeking at this time last year. I won’t be surprised to see them in the next few weeks.

        • Helen says:

          Yes, I seem to remember. It is colder in the whole this winter, isn’t it?

          • Kalamain says:

            We have had a few more cold days than last year. A lot more frosts to be sure.
            I’m still hoping we get an other month of cold before spring starts though.

            So much for that arctic blast though. That was a “blink and you will miss it” thing. >.>

          • Helen says:

            I could do without frost on days I’ve got to work but apart from that…. 😉

          • Kalamain says:

            LOL! Frost isn’t so bad around here. Snow can be though.
            When we have a risk of ice (And black ice) we just stick to the main roads or take the train/bus. It;s just not worth the risk for us.

          • Helen says:

            I only meant in terms of defrosting the windscreen. It adds ten minutes or so to prep in the morning… can’t do train or bus because they are not frequent or reliable enough to ensure getting back for childminder etc.

          • Kalamain says:

            Ah. I see. Being in a village we have the bus issues but then we could always walk back from the main road (10 min walk) if needed. And wet have a trading station right on the outskirts of the village. One of the good things of being an old mining village!

          • Helen says:

            What’s a trading station?

          • Kalamain says:

            “Train station”… stupid autocorrect… >.>

          • Helen says:

            Yes, autocorrect!!!

            Just on the news now is issue of transport in more rural areas….. I’m not exactly rural but transport is nowhere near as good as it would be if we lived in Leeds and, even though we have a Leeds postcode, we have to used Wakefield buses or the train and then pay for Leeds buses separately.

          • Kalamain says:

            That sucks. Are leeds busses arriva?

          • Helen says:

            They’re First Bus.

          • Kalamain says:

            Shame. Wakefield is arriva… You can’t even use the same pass

          • Helen says:

            I could get a Yorkshire-wide pass if I used the buses a lot but for a one-off it’s not worth it. Sadly, the car is the best option for most of the stuff we do in Leeds.

          • Kalamain says:

            Same here for the most part. Although getting to wakey or ponte is nice and easy.

          • Helen says:

            Yes… taking opportunities where you can. Hence, going by train to Leeds at the weekend if we are only going round the town centre or a shortish distance out of it. Likewise Wakefield, though we don’t go there often. Am even thinking of trying out J32 on the train, though that wouldn’t work if I was trying to carry home large pots of paint like I did last Sunday!

          • Kalamain says:

            I didn’t know you could get to Glasshoughton from Leeds?

            Anyway. If we are actually buying anything we take the car to J32. Too much of a problem otherwise.

          • Helen says:

            Yes, it’s on the Leeds-Knottingley line.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

