The metaphorically empty space

Years ago, we had a massive TV. And then it broke down. As it was too big for me to move, we had to wait for about three months till my parents visited and it could be taken away.

After that, I was determined to say no to any other offerings if they were too big or heavy for me to deal with alone. However, I then accepted a Wendy house from my sister – it could be deconstructed and would fit in a car.

Except that it didn’t deconstruct anywhere easily as I had hoped. Anyone who remembers my post Sorry Strawberries might also remember how it went. But someone did buy it the next day and came back with a car big enough to fit it in last night.


Now I have work to do in order to prepare the place for a shed. Then I will need to bite the bullet and actually choose a shed: exact size, window or no window….

Whatever I choose, it will need to house all the gardening equipment I have been keeping in the house as well as the heap that is on the garden path, or what was the said path. For all that, though, I would rather be planting another tree!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The metaphorically empty space

  1. It should be a great help to have a shed Helen 🙂 Worth the time and effort. Good luck!

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Kathy. Juggling lots of stuff like decorating at the same time, so with the dark evenings it’s going to take a while. I need all the encouragement I can get 😉

  2. Kalamain says:

    Not sure if you have thought about it or not… But you will need electricity piped out to the shed. You will need a light of some description so unless you don’t mind burning through batteries (Or set up a solar cell) you will need to fit a mains led light.

    Glad to see it finally went though!

  3. Ok, now I’m caught up. I followed the thread, above, about a light for your shed. Perhaps a window is a good compromise for letting in natural light during the day.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

