Found in the fog

Brr! This is the first time in years I have truly felt cold outdoors. Freezing fog had been predicted and it was nothing less this morning. 

However, there was work I felt compelled to do in the garden. Namely, the ground where the final two flagstones for the shed base will go needed levelling.

This wasn’t a challenging job, fortunately. The strawberry plants came up easily enough, though how many of them will survive the experience of first being trodden on multiple times to get rid of the Wendy house and now being unearthed.


I have got the map somewhere of the bulbs I planted in this area, which never (or mostly never) appeared above ground, presumably smothered by the ground cover which subsequently covered them as well. Yet they seem to be sprouting now, so in the front garden they will go. Along with all the other bulbs which are similarly doing their stuff.

Whilst removing soil, I also found tree roots, which I presume to be left over from the bushes I took out years ago. If so, it shows how long wood takes to decompose in the ground. On the other hand, they could well be from nextdoor’s silver birches which were cut down last year. In a sense, I hope it is the latter, otherwise my hugel beds really are going to take a long time to work their wonders.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Found in the fog

  1. gaiainaction says:

    Sounding good Helen, you are preparing for the growing season! So much fun even though it sounds a bit cold over there. Have a relaxing weekend.

  2. Last year it was the heavy rains, and now you’re dealing with cold fog. Never a dull moment, eh? We’ve had all sorts of weather this month: freezes, record-breaking storms and now unseasonably warm weather.

    • Helen says:

      At least the fog was only one day – it was reasonably warm and sunny yesterday, so we had a lovely walk in the countryside just five minutes’ walk from our house.

      Are you happy about the unseasonably warm weather you are experiencing, Alys?

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

