Hitting the concrete (Talking to the birds)

The title for this post could you lead you to think I had had a terrible accident. Apologies if it does. In fact, I feel I have achieved something quite momentous this morning.

Time waits for no one spurred me into action. Though it has been cold these past few days, spring is upon us and I need to be getting on with matters aside from the shed business.

As it turns out, there was concrete under the flagstones I wanted to move from the patio to the back of the garden, so that the shed has a base to stand on. However, it was more like sand than anything else, which meant I had no trouble from that point of view.

The hardest part of the job was lifting the stones in their original position, followed by getting the ground level enough at the other end. Fortunately, my daughter was on hand to do a bit of cunning wedging – where I had taken too much soil away, we placed bricks under the flagstones to bring them up to the correct height.


That leaves us with two flagstones on the patio. So, what am I going to do with those? Move them across to form a path from the back door – but that can wait a while!

The icing on the cake is that the blackbirds, sensing a feast of worms, joined me for a while. Hopefully, they aren’t too disappointed that the newly dug soil didn’t stay bare very long. In any case, they seemed very tame – are they the same ones as were in the garden last year, I wonder.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hitting the concrete (Talking to the birds)

  1. It will be nice to have a path from the back door. Isn’t it nice when you can re-purpose what you already have? I’m glad to hear you had a visit from some blackbirds. Things are moving along, Helen.

  2. patsquared2 says:

    You are braver than I am. Moving the stones would be tough enough; laying them, level, would be almost impossible for me. I have no patience! Nice job, though and nice path!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

