You want cider with your grass?

In an attempt to keep my daughter off the iPad and/or WhatsApp on my phone all day, I try to do something meaningful with her both outside and inside each day. Thus, yesterday’s outside venue was the pit head just a few minutes’ walk from the house, which is now reverting to countryside.

When I first moved to our house and discovered the ‘park’, I was pleased but not overly inspired, as I was more used to either fully managed spaces or ones which were well-established. However, as I have learned more about plants, I have become more and more interested in this land.

On the whole, people are respectful of the environment, with one or two notable exceptions:

There was a film of ice on this pond, even though it was about 7 degrees C. What I had originally noticed was the wipes in the water, which quite revolted me. The discarded tyre wasn’t too pleasant either.

On a more uplifting note, I was intrigued by the work which had been done at the pond. Is the photo below an example of mulching?

The pond not only contains a tyre and other detritus but long grasses, which had been cut down (see photo above re mulch). I don’t know who does it or why but I think there is a method to this rather than wanton disrespect.

Another thing which intrigued me was what appeared to be sheep droppings. Now, I’ve never seen sheep in these parts, certainly not running wild, so maybe there is an animal with similar droppings on the loose. And yet, as we walked home, what should we see but what appeared to be sheep’s wool just inside the gate to our housing estate. (Someone had broken the fence, so sheep could get in quite easily, although I have seen sheep jump over fences as well.)

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to You want cider with your grass?

  1. andy1076 says:

    Jumping sheeps you say, don’t suppose they’ve heard you complain about sleep and are helping you out? πŸ˜‰

  2. Kalamain says:

    With the grass… What they should do do it’s to chop them down and then leave them a few days for any insects to move from the stalks to the new growth.
    What actually happens is they chop it down and leave it and call it mulch… because they are lazy. B-)

    • Helen says:

      I don’t know that they didn’t leave it for a few days, as you say, to be fair. I hadn’t actually seen this particular pond before and I’ve never seen anyone doing any work on any of the site, so it’s a bit of a mystery.

  3. gaiainaction says:

    It is great to have this bit of wild area close to where you live. Do you see lots of wildlife there Helen, like butterflies in summer?

  4. It’s a mystery what people do with open spaces – often makes you wonder if they deserve them. As for the grass – lack of budget is often at the bottom of unskilled help and jobs half done.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

