The Third Wassail

Having been dogged with sinusitis for the last week, I woke up yesterday wondering if it was a good idea to have committed to not only the volunteer workday at Old Sleningford Farm but also the Wassail in the evening.

Well, I did get a headache and had to go for a sit down a couple of times. I also forgot my wellies, so the smart boots I wear for work got sodden and now I hope they aren’t stained.

Nevertheless, when I look at the photo of the willow bundled up and ready to be taken to the farm for us to turn into headdresses 


I remember the satisfaction of working outdoors, the conversation and the pizza in the clay oven. Oh, also, my daughter got to be Wassail Queen again, which meant she got to put toast in the biggest apple tree in the orchard to feed the birds. She was very pleased about that.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The Third Wassail

  1. How very sweet (except for the sinusitis…I’ve had a sinus infection I’ve been trying to kick for the last week as well). Congratulations to your daughter!

  2. streepie says:

    That day (and the Wassail) certainly makes up for sodden and stained boots 😉
    I hope it also helped a bit to clear your sinusitis. If not, have you tried inhaling with salted water?

  3. Oh dear. I see you’re not feeling better after all. I’m glad you had a nice time away (and congratulations to your daughter for the special honour). Rest, fluids, you know the drill.

    • Helen says:

      I had a long sleep this morning, which I obviously needed. It looks like this bug is difficult to shift but I haven’t been ill for quite a while so it is good for my immune system 😊. I hope you are well, in any case, Alys.

      • Sleep is so restorative, isn’t it? I’m doing well. My son had back to back colds with a hacking cough, but I’ve somehow managed to avoid all but a few sniffles. I hope you’re on the mend soon, Helen.

        • Helen says:

          Thank you, Alys. Sounds like your son has been suffering – thank goodness you’ve avoided the hacking cough.

          • Obsessive hand and towel washing on my part helps, and he gets a pass on setting the table as well.My sons have never been on antibiotics and they’ve never had a stomach bug. It’s quite remarkable. I like to think that extended breast feeding and a vegetarian diet have helped build a good immune system, but who knows. I have friends who’s children miss weeks and weeks of school because they always seem to be sick. It’s really hard once they hit high school to miss that much time.

          • Helen says:

            Yes, hard indeed! My daughter breastfed for three years and that might be why she is never off school…

          • Good for you! I made it to almost two years with both boys. I let them decide when they were done. What an amazing bonding experience.

          • Helen says:

            My daughter loved it but in the end I wanted my body back. I think it will have helped her through the instability of leaving her dad and moving so many times when she was a baby/toddler.

          • What a difficult time for both of you. I’m glad she had that strong bond with you during turbulent times. I know it made a world of difference.

          • Helen says:

            Thank you, Alys.

  4. I am sorry to hear that you are ill. Take good care of yourself and get well soon.
    Honey

  5. gaiainaction says:

    Hope you feel better soon Helen, sinusitis is a rotten thing. Fair play to you for still volunteering when you felt bad.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

