And I thought it was a tomato!

When I drew up the kitchen blind on Monday morning, I was so pleased at seeing what I thought was a tomato seedling. Must be very good compost for germination, considering I only sowed them last week….


Then I looked again. More like a radish than a tomato – and I had germinated some radishes in the same pot earlier. 

Never mind, at least the prospect of tomatoes galvanised me into action. In other words, I sowed the organic tomato seeds I bought (as opposed to the ones I was given at Christmas). There were very few seeds in this packet, which was a bit of a disappointment, but then I do only need a few plants.

Anyway, as I am starting the tomatoes off so early this year, if all else fails I have other back-up seeds from last year. However, the tomatoes I sowed today are supposed to be resistant to the more common nasties, so fingers crossed they thrive.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to And I thought it was a tomato!

  1. It is always a good idea to sow tomato seeds early to insure the crop will ripen during your growing season. Here in Sweden it is a must because of our sort growing season.
    Honey

  2. It is suppose to say short growing season not our sort growing season.
    Honey

  3. andy1076 says:

    Yep! I miss spring and summer! I want some home grown fruits already lol

  4. jeffpermie says:

    Grow a couple more plants of each species / variety, then plant some out under cut out plastic juice / milk / cola bottles. I’ve done this two years in a row, the tomatoes always survived and I removed the bottles once the last expected frost, they did look manky but they became the strongest plants in the garden due to their more advanced root network.
    Give it a shot, the bottles will also protect them from Slugs.
    Don’t forget sacrificial plants, I’ve just written an article on them a couple days back 🙂

  5. My favorite part of summer: fresh, garden tomatoes. Best of luck, fingers crossed, and all that jazz

  6. S says:

    The late bloomers and volunteers are often the very best! Good luck!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

