By the back door

In a recent post, I mentioned that I intended to move two flagstones, which were part of the original patio, to create a path from the back door. Apart from any other considerations, this should minimise the amount of sand being walked into the house.


In the event, this morning I was in the middle of lifting the first stone when the phone rang. I decided to call back after moving it to the planned position and knew that would be the end of this job for now.

However, I’m starting to get a picture of how the space by the back door could be developed. For a start, with so much sand, I wonder if carrots would be worth a try?  In the long run, the soil will no doubt need some kind of amending but for now I am happy with the novelty!!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to By the back door

  1. I think carrots would be a great idea Helen. We’re currently deciding on where to put ours, as we have a lot of rabbits on the land, so they need to be in the enclosed part. However our soil there is very stony and also has high clay content, so will need a lot of work first. Will be great to know how you get on!

    • Helen says:

      I have been growing round carrots – not sure they really grow better in clay, but they might be worth a try.

      We were laughing at work about that the fact that it is probably impossible to grow carrots anywhere in Yorkshire (because of the clay) but only a mile or so away from where I live is an organic farm. And they grow fabby long carrots. So you can do it too!!

  2. Kalamain says:

    Is it just sand or is there anything mixed in with it? Also, how deep is that sand?
    And are these questions relevant?

    Enquiring minds need to know!

  3. Those must way a lot, Helen. Good for you for moving them in to place. I hope they serve the intended purpose.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

