Greening Westminster

Yesterday, we went on a day trip to the Houses of Parliament in London. It was quite fascinating! There was too much information to take on board in one tour but just seeing the place where legislation is made helped me join certain dots in my understanding.

We weren’t allowed to take photos in most of the building but I will show you the bits I was able to capture in a moment. First of all, to connect the experience of going to Westminster Palace with one of the specific focuses of my blog, here is a shot of a green roof close to Westminster Palace (aka the Houses of Parliament).

Round the back of Westminster Palace

 

Big Ben and the London Eye

Statue of Oliver Cromwell

Frescoes near the Lords’ chambers

Most recent addition to the palace – in commemoration of the suffragettes. In addition, the lights go on and off depending on the height of the tide.

The part of medieval Westminster Palace which was not destroyed by a fire in the nineteenth century. It has been used as a law court (e.g. to try Thomas More).


Disclaimer: I forgot to watermark my photographs. They are however my intellectual property, so please do not reproduce without my permission. I will replace with watermarked versions in due course. Thank you.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Days out, Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Greening Westminster

  1. gaiainaction says:

    Beautiful shots Helen, I am sure it was a lovely and interesting trip.

  2. You got some good shots there Helen, thanks for sharing!

  3. What a great experience! I went there for the first time last year and felt really humbled (although also surprised at how much smaller it is). I think everyone should get the chance to visit parliament – it really makes you realise how important voting is. I hadn’t seen the suffragette memorial – those lights are amazing!

    • Helen says:

      I agree that it shows you how important voting is, Kathryn! And yes, it is really quite small… glad you appreciated the photo of the suffragette memorial ๐Ÿ˜Š

  4. What a beautiful place, filled with so much history. I haven’t been to London since 2009. I hope to get back there one day. There is much to see and do.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

