Springing up 

What with going away last weekend and it still being too dark when I get home from work, not an awful lot of gardening has got done recently. 

However, my curiosity has been piqued by the appearance of bulbs underneath the bay tree. How many times have I reacted with consternation at the goings-on in the garden? Well, this is another occasion when I have no answers.


When I built the hugel bed last February, I am certain that there were no bulbs in the soil in that spot. Furthermore, I can hardly imagine planting any flowers there, considering it is supposed to be herb garden.

In any case, now the bulbs are there I will just have to see what they turn out to be. Then dig them out and move them on – unless they are Spanish bluebells. I definitely don’t want any of these anywhere front or back (apart from the back border, as my neighbour is rather partial to them there).

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, herbs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Springing up 

  1. plot34 says:

    There are two bulbs of some description shooting up for the base of the olive tree pot. It wasn’t me! I wonder if it’s part of a squirrel’s stash?

  2. gaiainaction says:

    Well how curious, I am, like you, dying to find out what the bulbs are going to give you, flowers or perhaps a wild onion or garlic? Intriguing indeed. 🙂

  3. I have plants that pop up unexpectedly too .. never ceases to amaze me 😃

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

