Getting to the bottom of matters 

Yesterday, we went on the hunt for a shed. Not only did it need to be a good quality shed, it needed to be delivered, carried through to my back garden and installed on a day I would be at home. 

The first place proved to be a bit awkward, since I would have had to carry the shed parts from the front to the back of the house myself and then wait a week for installation. Mm.. Fortunately, the next place, as recommended by people at the Old Sleningford volunteer workday, turned out to be my saviour.

A bit more pricey, but on top of the aforementioned stipulations, I had been hopeful of tantalised ship lap, and that’s what I’ll be getting – with more secure bolts, to boot. However, I realised that the base as laid down a couple of weeks ago would not do. It wobbled, was lopsided, uneven and not big enough. 


After working on it this morning and again later in the afternoon, it is no longer quite so wanting. And I think it should now pass muster.

I had to lift two of the flagstones, which turned out to be a lot easier than anticipated. Then I brought sand up from the patio to even out the ground (and got to use the spirit level I always knew I would need someday) and enlarged the base with smaller flagstones and bricks.

Apart from the advantage of being able to repurpose the sand from the patio – or rather some of it – moving it meant I got to see how deep it was and what was underneath. 

Well, it turns out to be on a bed of yellow clay and the sand is rocky (or maybe it’s bits of concrete). So, I’m going to move the soil currently covering half my strawberries, which was dug up from the area where the shed base now sits, to replace the sand.

Maybe I need to do a bit more clearance from the patio, having learned that builders sand may have growth inhibitors in it, but one way or another the garden is going to look a bit different in the near future!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Make do and mend and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Getting to the bottom of matters 

  1. Kalamain says:

    Yay!
    At least you know things are moving on the shed front!

    Shame about the builders waste/sand though. B-(
    Although if you have a clay-y bit you could spread it on that and start breaking it up a little.

    • Helen says:

      I’m going to investigate further tomorrow…. makes sense to move the soil, if I can, as there is no point in the shed installers standing on it and compacting it all 😊

  2. carolee says:

    Can’t wait to see the photos!

  3. gaiainaction says:

    A big enough job Helen, but it will all be worth it in the end I guess. Inspiring to say the least!

    • Helen says:

      Well, thank you, Agnes. My poor psoriatic hands are a bit sore now, but I have to hope in the first instance that the base is to the satisfaction of the shed installers. I do want the gardening equipment out of the house and all the clutter, such as cloches and compost, out of sight. Anyway, Friday is the big day, so no doubt all will be revealed then!

  4. patsquared2 says:

    You have courage. I just don’t have the patience to do much leveling…but the base for the shed has to be level.Well done you.

    • Helen says:

      I do hope it will be level enough… The woman at the shed outlet hadn’t seen the base but from my description she though it would be fine considering it will only be a small shed.

  5. I”m so excited for you. I can’t wait to see your shed in place.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

