Before and after 

I’ve been in tenderhooks all week, wondering if the base for my shed would be acceptable. This became all the more a concern, once I realised just how much I needed the shed.

The wind the other day not only made a lot of noise and created disarray around the garden because of misplaced objects but these objects, I subsequently noticed, had almost denuded the bay tree. 

Eight-thirty this morning: view from the kitchen window

However, the men who installed the shed this afternoon were not only efficient in their work but added some wood to balance out the base. It was only a tiny section: I’d forgotten to consider longways. 

Anyway, I am ecstatic. Shaws for Sheds is a company I would definitely recommend. The shiplap, tantalised frame plus delivery and installation weren’t cheap but after some of the experiences I’ve had with shed suppliers (and their offerings), they have been a godsend.

Four o’clock this afternoon: view from the kitchen window

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Before and after 

  1. gaiainaction says:

    Well done, I am glad it all turned out great for you Helen!

  2. carolee says:

    I love my shed. Are you going to paint or stain it?

  3. Sheds are invaluable, so glad yours is okay, Helen, and I hope that wind has gone!

    • Helen says:

      It’s a bit windy out there but the shed is still standing and I am happy in the knowledge that the bamboo canes and other stuff which was blowing around earlier in the week is safely tucked up inside it 😃.

  4. plot34 says:

    Looking good, and it’s already survived Doris! Choosing a shed colour is so much more complicated these days; it’s almost enough to make me wish for the days of ‘any colour you like, as long as it’s brown’!

    • Helen says:

      Doris came and went before the shed arrived, which I guess was a relief for the installers as well as myself 😊.

      Not sure which colour I’m going to choose!

  5. Karen says:

    I know you must be so very happy with your new shed…that is going to help out greatly with your gardening endeavors.

  6. I’m so happy that you’re happy. It looks terrific.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

