My potting shed

Twelve months ago, I blogged that my heart’s desire was a potting shed. I knew in my reality this could be but a pipe dream, considering the size of my garden – and I wasn’t sure about security.

However, I was in my element this afternoon: whilst it was raging outside, in the shed I was snug, filling up plant pots with compost and seeds. So, these pots of what I hope will be oregano, chilli peppers and sesame are now duly on a windowsill in the house.

Still more to get in but the house is already a different place.

I had thought about trying out the shed for germination but in the end the sensible side of me got the upper hand. I will definitely use this space when it is warmer though, as I’ve been able to construct a makeshift shelf from the frame of a mini greenhouse a neighbour once gave me and part of a shelf from the full-size plastic greenhouse that the wind quickly dismantled two years ago.

Anyway, I was also pleased with the view from the shed. It’s great looking out from my back door but this new vantage point means I can see things from a very different angle.

The apple tree sprouting new buds. I also noticed the blueberry bush has lots of buds on it.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to My potting shed

  1. plot34 says:

    I think sheds appeal to our inner cave woman!

  2. Lavinia Ross says:

    It is nice to be able to work on potting and other projects in a sheltered space.

  3. streepie says:

    Enjoy your shed – sounds as if it was worth every penny!

  4. Kalamain says:

    Btw careful putting shelves in there. Some sheds won’t take much weight on the walls
    Glad you are happy with it though!

  5. Enjoy the shed! Hope it doesn’t fill up too much with stuff so that you can’t get in (like mine)

  6. What fun to spend time in there. And you have a view! And a potting table. Squeeee

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

