The first day of the month (Spring is here)

Some might say that spring has arrived, with it being the first of March. If so, it is a decidedly cold start to the season but I have seen full-blown daffodils out – and nearly stopped my car to take a photo, except that I was on my way to an intense day at work.

I missed another photo opportunity in the form of a pigeon having a go at one of the purple sprouting broccolis. The phone was upstairs, but at least I will remember the cuteness of the scene. 

I’d had half a mind to get the netting out. On second thoughts though, it didn’t seem worth it, as when I was clearing out old seeds, I noticed that the purple sprouting ones were more than just out-of-date. So, let the pigeons eat on.

Anyway, apart from the shed, what else has changed in the garden over the last month? Well, the garlic has been been growing – so now I am very curious to see what the bulbs from the saved bulbils will be like in a few months’ time.

Aside from that, if anything the garden is emptier, as I’ve all but finished the kale and the last reasonable cabbage has come out. The onions are still only green tops and half the strawberries have been smothered in soil, due to the work to prepare the spot for the shed.

If I was comparing the front garden now with this time in February, the story would be different. Flowers have an agenda all of their own. A pity I haven’t seen any bees yet.

Back garden on 1st February


Back garden on 1st March.

But how could I almost forget to mention the garden path…. I think I need to extend it round the apple tree on the opposite side of the garden to the shed but overall the garden is a lot tidier and easier to navigate now. 

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

