The wrong time of year for ratatouille 

I try to eat food in season. Or rather that has been the policy since I moved to my house and first came face-to-face with the seasonal supply of fruit and vegetables through my local organic farm.

However, I was blown away by the choice of food at the Fuel for Schools stall when I dropped my daughter off this morning. It’s hard to get my head round why produce such as onions and carrots were being thrown away. 

Now, I’m not actually going to use the carrots in the ratatouille (in case anyone was wondering). It’s a great way of using up not only onions but courgettes and peppers which were somehow found wanting by the supermarkets. There’s also an apple crumble on the go.


But before we sit down to eat, I wanted to share not only the above scoop but other minor ways in which landfill has been left slightly emptier this week.

First, on Monday, there was an advert for a toilet seat (new) on Freegle. It also happened to be offered by someone living very close by. Second, and equally close by, pebbles that I bought when I took up gardening are going to be picked up by the caretaker of my daughter’s school for a living pond that he has built.

The latter has the added bonus, for me, of clearing a space on the part of the garden that was the patio, which in turn means I can start moving pots off stepping stones. Then I can get down to gardening with greater ease!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Make do and mend and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The wrong time of year for ratatouille 

  1. mortaltree says:

    Rich finds! Good for you.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

