Wild garlic at last!

You’d think I had a particular love of pollarding willow in the rain, based on my blog posts over this weekend! Well, I have no qualms about gardening in the rain, and I certainly got less wet today than I had done on Friday. It’s also pleasing when you think something is a job well done, isn’t it?

Some of the willow we pollarded at Old Sleningford Farm.


Raindrops on the pond at Old Sleningford Farm.

Aside from the polllarding, we also worked in the forest garden at Old Sleningford Farm today: cutting down raspberry canes and clearing away branches from the paths so that they don’t end up buried under the grass in the summer.

Summer seems a long way off still, even if the days are longer and it is somewhat warmer. Yet the wild garlic is ready for eating and this is what we had for lunch. Which is how I came to mention my disappointment with the wild garlic seeds I have tried to germinate for the last couple of years.

Martin, who co-runs the farm suggested that I take some of theirs. So, once the pollarding was finished, his partner, Rachel, and I took forks to a couple of clumps of wild garlic and hey presto I had them to take home with me.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in herbs, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wild garlic at last!

  1. Love the smell of wild garlic! Really reminds me of spring:)

  2. Karen says:

    I had to look up the term pollarding, thank goodness for google. The wild garlic must have been very welcomed. Called ramps, where we lived in New England, it was a welcomed treat to find limited amounts of it at our food markets in early spring.

    • Helen says:

      I had heard the term ‘ramps’ – may be used here, though until about ten years ago when I used to get an organic veg box delivered, I had not heard of wild garlic at all. It certainly is a great start to spring anyway 😊.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

