The case of drawers

My fridge-freezer had been showing signs of aging and not wanting to poison us with something which had repeatedly thawed and refrozen, I went out and bought a new one yesterday afternoon.

I was a little astounded that in just over 12 hours, the old one was gone and the update was in its place. Or rather the shell was taken away at the unearthly hour of eight o’clock on a Sunday morning after I had been up in the middle of the night defrosting it.


The shelves and drawers have been salvaged. I.e. the delivery men didn’t take them away, as I think the drawers will come in useful for storage in the shed. 

On the other hand, the shelves might be going by way of Freegle – they don’t fit in the new fridge but could be useful for someone else.  Bearing in mind the message in the photo below, this would definitely be a good thing.

Household waste disposal site in Leeds, UK

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The case of drawers

  1. carolee says:

    I hate to share this, now that it is too late, but my 91 year-old-mother stores her cabbages and carrots in the unheated garage, in a freezer that hasn’t worked for years and years. It keeps them moist, protected from everything. At this point (I just visited her Tuesday) she has enough carrots and cabbage to last until the new crops come in….and I know from experience that they will still be fresh and good (you might have to peel a leaf or two from the cabbage, but otherwise, perfect!) I’m kinda waiting for my little freezer to “die” so I can buy a bigger one and use this one for “fresh” storage!

  2. Good on you for trying to salvage and reuse some of the old parts of the freezer 🙂

  3. patsquared2 says:

    Love that you kept the drawers! I kept one from our new fridge that just kept getting in my way and am using it in the garage for storage and a small one holds the tissue box in my car… Never thought of using an old freezer like you would a root cellar but not a bad idea!

    • Helen says:

      It’s great to get ideas from other people’s comments, isn’t it! I had wondered if it was worth posting about the freezer – you never what’s going to come up and we could all have missed out on the titbit.

      Anyway, your car idea also sounds a good one. My parents have plastic boxes to keep things neat – I could use a drawer for this purpose.

  4. baskets can also be used to keep the cats and pigeons off plants – always worth finding a use for these things and freecycling everything else

    • Helen says:

      What a fab idea re protecting plants! The cloches I have have seen better days and the brackets might not be very tall but they could cover a few strawberry plants, for example.

  5. Congratulations on the new fridge. You’ll probably save a bit on electricity too, as the newer ones are more efficient. I can picture those drawers in your new shed. What a great idea to hang on to them.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I hope the new fridge will be more efficient…. it certainly seems to keep things cooler. Funny how you think something works – until you get a new one, isn’t it?

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

