March shoots

After walking into our local town and being given the all-clear on a potential glaucoma diagnosis, then taking a delightful walk back through the park, I was struck down with what I can only think is a bout of food poisoning.

That didn’t stop me enjoying the garden, fortunately, even though I could only manage a bit of pottering about and speaking to my neighbour over the garden fence.

In any case, I was pleased to note that the broadbeans I sowed in a newly built hugel bed last month have at last started to emerge. I had wondered perhaps if nitrogen depletion could have inhibited germination – or was it a cat walking over them which might have caused some disturbance.


The crab apple tree is also showing signs of coming to life. It does flower earlier than the apple tree, so it is no surprise that the latter is not similarly turning green, but I’m hoping that the shed will provide them both some protection from the south-westerly wind.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to March shoots

  1. plot34 says:

    Glad to see the funny tummy didn’t slow you down too much and good news on the all-clear.
    I’m always surprised how long it takes for broad beans to germinate, a month seems about right particularly direct sown. Just need a bit of warmth – like us really!

  2. Congratulations on your medical good fortune. We lways founf broad beans to be a worry, but they always came through for us.

  3. carolee says:

    Get well fast…your garden needs your tender care!

  4. I hope your tummy is feeling better, Helen. I had a stomach virus last month and it really slowed me down. Good news on the glaucoma too. Spring is happening. What a joy.

    • Helen says:

      Alys, it is a picture here with all the daffodils out everywhere. 😃

      Fortunately, my tummy was a one-day wonder – I think to do with the old fridge-freezer – stuff kept freezing, then thawing. But with my new one, hopefully there will be no more food poisoning.
      And hopefully you won’t have any more viruses.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

