The bokashi’s second birthday

On the eighteenth of March 2015, two bokashi bins, bran and activator liquid arrived at a nearby newsagent’s and with great excitement I picked them up after work. The excitement dropped a bit when I realised that I didn’t have much food waste that couldn’t go in the regular compost bin and the bin didn’t produce liquid fertiliser immediately.

Then I started putting all kitchen waste in the bin with the bran and activator – and went away to Cornwall. Upon my return, all was functioning well and I’ve not looked back. Apart from last autumn when the apples and rose hips didn’t need much encouragement to cause mayhem.

Anyway, enough of the nostalgia. The bokashi bin has now found its permanent residence under the kitchen sink, thanks to the shed allowing many positive changes to be made inside the house.


The one pictured above is now full and will be helping next year’s Jerusalem artichokes along when it’s ready. As I move to a no-dig gardening approach, and with nearly all the hugel beds dug, I may find I have a surfeit of bokashi fertiliser. But right now, it is still very much of value.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The bokashi’s second birthday

  1. My friend and I were discussing these bins a couple of weeks ago. I’m quite intrigued by them….

    • Helen says:

      They are a great way of not only composting kitchen waste which you can’t put directly in a heap (such as dairy produce) and in general speed up decomposition but they make liquid fertiliser. This liquid an also be used to keep drains clear, so you certainly get quite a bang for your buck 😃.

  2. Emma@ Misfit Gardening says:

    Hay birthday Bokashi! I love composting with Bokashi, it isn’t really known here in the US which is crazy given the food wasted here. Bokashi helps to speed up my compost pile throughout the year and I add the liquid to my organic liquid fertilizer for an added growth kick!

    • Helen says:

      Of course, there are so many advantages to a bokashi. I’m a bit concerned about putting the bokashi solids in the compost heap in winter, in case it attracts rats, but it really speeds up compost making in the summer.

  3. I’m intrigued by your bokashi, Helen. I’m so glad you’ve been able to free up space with the addition of a shed. I’ve only heard of them through you. I wonder if they’re available here, too. I’ll have to investigate.

  4. After several years of procrastination I finally ordered two buckets – they arrive tomorrow. Looking forward to it!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

