Cut- and-come-again kale

You know how something happens but it takes you a while to see it? Well, this is the case with the kale stalks that are dotted around the garden.

I’d been lopping the tops off as I wanted kale for my tea but leaving the stalks to decompose in situ, particularly the roots. I had hoped thereby to break up the soil a little.

This may of course happen in due course. However, looks like I might just get another meal or two of kale before then.


Oh, and the cabbages are also at it!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cut- and-come-again kale

  1. gaiainaction says:

    One winter decades ago we lived on Kale for many weeks and loved this vegetable.

  2. We used to cut a cross in the stalks of calabrese after the first cutting and they would grow a crop of spears looking a bit like broccoli.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

