The sesame and the slug

I’ve been watching the pots on my windowsill for a week or so. The oregano has germinated and so have a few of the seame seeds. The oregano are growing, albeit at a very slow pace. On the other hand, the sesame seem to be keeling over.

At first, I though it might be damping off or a lack of heat. Until I discovered a baby slug on the surface of the compost.


It’s possibly difficult to distinguish the slug from the sesame seedlings. But in case you’re wondering, the life form I don’t want is the one on the left, above the copyright notice.

It has duly been removed and now I will be extra vigilant. I realise the slug must have got into the compost when it was kept outside, in the days before the shed, so presumably now that it doesn’t have to stay outside there will be less of this kind of thing. Here’s hoping!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The sesame and the slug

  1. the devils get everywhere

  2. atkokosplace says:

    I had some lovely plants during the winter growing nicely…. then I noticed they weren’t thriving…..pill bugs! That’s all I could figure out it was. I got rid of the bugs and re potted and now they are doing well again. I have to be careful not to leave newly bought bagged soil on the porch! I wish you well slug free and all!!! πŸ™‚

  3. I noticed yesterday that my basil and oregano seeds have sprouted! So far, I have no little critters.

  4. Kalamain says:

    You know if you had one you will have more soon enough!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

