Patio strawberries

After I’d lifted the flagstones on my patio and finished the base for my shed, I had a big mound of soil on top of the strawberry patch. I decided this would be best moved in order to cover the builders sand by the back door and extend the herb bed. At the time, I’d wondered if in moving the soil from the strawberry patch, the new bed would end up becoming a strawberry patch, too.


So far, the strawberry plants are only small but it is clear that at least four have survived being trampled on, smothered and accidentally chopped. However, I can imagine by the summer this bed will be too full for herbs.

Still, it will be delightful to step just outside and pick fruit first thing in the morning, blackbirds permitting.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Patio strawberries

  1. andy1076 says:

    Strawberries! wow here the soil is still way to cold for anything 🙂

  2. It’s all coming together nicely, Helen. Another blogger shared this trick, with mixed results. You paint small pebbles bright red with small dots to resemble a strawberry and place them under the green plants. The birds apparently come to investigate and learn quickly that the “red berries” are hard and inedible. Then when the real berries show up, they’ve stopped looking. It’s worth a try and perhaps a fun project with your daughter. The snails usually get to my berries before I do. Ugh.

  3. That’s a great trick with strawberry decoys. 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

