The forgotten hum

More tomato seedlings had appeared over the last few days, so after last week’s under-watering and then damping off, it looks like I will end up with at least enough tomato plants this year. It also meant that I needed to get the latest seedlings into bigger pots.

In turn, potting up meant I got to take a trip down the garden to the shed. And in the bright sunshine I noticed the first dandelions of the year.


This was followed by the arrival of a bumblebee. It didn’t seem to notice the dandelions but rather kept close to the soil, as though it was sniffing it. Whatever it was up to, I was pleased to see it and hope that it will be okay tonight considering it is predicted to go down to -1 degrees C.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The forgotten hum

  1. gaiainaction says:

    You got to love these dandelions Helen, I love them as food but would not dream of using the flowers lest I interfere with the seeding of yet more dandelions 🙂 Have a nice weekend.

  2. Perhaps the bee will hide in the crevice next to the flower for warmth. I haven’t seen any bees yet even though so much is in bloom, but that said, we’ve had a lot of rain. Soon I hope.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I think bees avoid the rain. If ours are out of hibernation, then so must yours, I’d have thought, though.

      I saw a bumblebee again yesterday flying to the roof of the house – it was enormous, so I wonder if it was the queen looking to make a nest.

  3. Kalamain says:

    The bee would have been searching for nest sites.
    And dandelion leaves work quite well in a salad… But you will have to wash them.

  4. samba2017 says:

    I love dandelions! They are so sunny and happy looking. I have just started a poetry blog here on WordPress in case you have time to look? Today’s post is about being in the moment and features a pic of me lying in a dandelion meadow! Happy Monday, Sam 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

