Who moved the mulch?

The blackbirds are very tame at the moment. I’ve just been out to the bins, whilst nearby one was too busy pulling out a worm to bother with my presence.

I’m not sure if it is these same birds that are also rumaging through the rhubarb mulch. In any case, I’ve been rumbled. They have discovered the sticks from the Christmas tree, covered with compost, which went down last autumn.

The rhubarb seems quite unperturbed, however. In fact, I think by Easter it might be possible to pick a few sticks.

Incidentally, whilst at Nostell Priory recently, I noticed plenty of mulch material behind the adventure playground (near the kitchen garden). I wonder how many people wander behind the bushes next to the swings and discover this?

Manure, grass cuttings and what appear to be young fruit trees

The Nostell rhubarb certainly seems to have benefitted from it!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Who moved the mulch?

  1. andy1076 says:

    Landscaping birds, They are capable of anything aren’t they 🙂

  2. Kalamain says:

    That is where all the leaf litter goes. There is (was) about 4 large mounds back there.
    It’s how they get all their compost. With them being national trust they have to provide as much compost for themselves as they can.

    As to the birds.. . I bet they were grubbing for something. Mine do it a fair bit.

  3. Birds and foxes like to rummage in mulch. Cats also like it, though they temd to leave things rather than take them away. ;-(

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

