The birds and Brexit

It’s been a sad day for me (I’m talking on an emotional level rather than a political one). I have no idea what Brexit holds but I feel part of me has been wiped away with Theresa May’s letter to EU President Donald Tusk.

However, my day brightened when I got home to see a blackbird flying into the neighbouring pine trees with a beak full of what I imagine to be nest-building material. I wasn’t able to get my phone out in time for a photo but I did get one of a pigeon taking flight, after pausing on a nearby fence.


Last autumn I had wondered if the branches of Christmas tree might inhibit the growth of rhubarb under the acidic mulch. It seems that the birds have made sure this didn’t happen, though, for the rhubarb is showing in several places now.


The walking onions are also coming along in several pots dotted about the garden. I’ve still no idea where they are going to go eventually but I think the birds will leave these alone!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture, Wildlife and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The birds and Brexit

  1. andy1076 says:

    The name for the onion had me looking into google lol 🙂

  2. Kalamain says:

    Did you have multiple heads of rhubarb or has it spread itself?

  3. Oh Helen, I really feel for you. It is a sad day witnessing what our local media is calling “the divorce”. And here we sit with “45” at the helm. I know you’ll take solace in your garden. I’m hoping your daughter and my sons can help make things right in this world once again. Sending you a cyber-hug. On a brighter note, I’m glad you’re seeing winged visitors in your garden.

    • Helen says:

      Thank you so much for your cyber hug, Alys – it brings years to my eyes.

      The hardest part of Brexit is that it got through by such a slim majority and most voters probably had little inkling of what it could mean in its entirety. Such a mess! But then you know all about political messes….

      Yes, let’s hope our children can revert the world to an upward spiral for humanity.

      I hadn’t heard the term ’45’ before. What does it refer to?

      • We are all shocked when Brexit passed and I remember reading that many people didn’t really realize what they were voting for until it was too late. It seemed to foreshadow what would happen here. It’s become apparent that many who voted for “he who shall not be named” but who happens to be our 45th president, hence the nickname was an equally bad and dangerous choice. We’ll see if this Russian investigation leads us anywhere. I would love to see the man behind bars where he belongs.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

