Preparations for Monday

I’ve left the Jerusalem artichokes in the ground too long. They have started to sprout no less. However, there are quite a number of tubers, which I am going to freeze, now that I have the new and bigger freezer.


The plan also is to fertilise the ground where they grow with the contents of the latest bokashi bin, ready on Monday next. I hope therefore that in spite of disturbing their bed today, they will have survived the onslaught.

On the other hand, I am definitely hoping that other vegetation round the garden won’t have survived today’s actions. This includes the thornless blackberry bush, which continues to reproduce itself with thorns around the Jerusalem artichoke bed. All being well, though, it seems to be lessening its hold.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Preparations for Monday

  1. Enjoy those artichokes Helen! We haven’t got any of the Jerusalem variety yet, I love them, have to remember to look for them!

  2. Kalamain says:

    I’ll bet your thornless wasn’t a thornless at all. Either that or it started growing from grafted roots.

    • Helen says:

      It was thornless when it first grew but the growth that came up from the roots had thorns. It’s a pain because of the growth which still comes up having thorns – just found more today in a hugelbed, when I thought I had at last cleared the ground of the last bits of root. Oh well, I will keep cutting any growth down and digging out where I can!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

