Bliss point


At the Old Sleningford workday today all the stresses of the last few weeks were swept away. It was great to be out of doors for an extended period of time, with others, achieving something.

We were ostensibly sorting out the vegetable patch, first turning the geotextile sheet used to keep down weeds. Of course, weeds will not be completely abated, so we needed to clear the ground and the sheet before we could re-lay it. Then we planted onions, which my daughter even became involved with.

A mouse with its house, including outside privy

Mycelium which had also been living under the geotextile sheet

Apart from a top-up of Vitamin D and good memories, we came home with a bag of apples and onion sets to plant. Even though I’ve been getting a fair amount of apples from the Fuel for School Project and I already have overwintered onions on the go at home, sharing outside the market economy always chuffs me up.

Equally, seeing the honesty (lunaria annua) in bloom when I got home and was sizing up the territory for planting more onions was a delightful coming-home present. Especially with purple being my favourite colour.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bliss point

  1. Sounds like a great experience Helen!

    • Helen says:

      Of course, you will have no need of days out like this, Kathy, otherwise I would heartily recommend 😉. I’m so glad we found this place and find it hard to believe that there are so few volunteers.

  2. It’s been so nice to get outdoors recently and, as you say, get our dose of Vitamin D.Sounds like a very productive weekend!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

