Testing the shed boundaries 

In spite of having a cold and just wanting to lie around, I have done some gardening. Very non-strenuous.

I discovered three more organic tomato seedlings which needed potting on. And having carried this out in the shed, I decided to keep them there. At night they would be warmer inside the house but it will be interesting to see if the warmth during the day will be sufficient to bring them on and if the shed is sufficient protection from any frost.

Likewise, the two echinacea seedlings which made it through the winter in the house have joined the peas in the shed. Again, I have no idea how they will fare but I am going to need more windowsill space inside the house soon and it seems a reasonable experiment.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Testing the shed boundaries 

  1. streepie says:

    Very reasonable to move seedlings out into the shed – I used to move mine into the (unheated) greenhouse at that time of the year: They’ll grow a bit slower, but will be sturdier (which is a plus for tomatoes!)
    I’d hazard that the peas would be ready to move into the ground – you can always cover them with a thin fleece.

    • Helen says:

      Thanks for all your useful feedback, Cornelia. I’d hoped to sort out the netting for the peas today but it depends on how I feel later. I also need to find out if in fact they need support – unfortunately, I put the catalogue in recycling but I am sure I bought something that was self-supporting.

      Once they are in the ground, anyway, I will move more of the tomato seedlings to the shed. It’s a real suntrap in there 😊.

      • streepie says:

        Sounds good. I used to use bits of wire-mesh fencing (with rather large holes) to support the peas. Worked quite well. Thin branches also seem to do the trick. You can always install the support a bit later if necessary.

  2. Lavinia Ross says:

    I am just getting around to starting seeds indoors here. 30 degrees this morning, although the forecast is for mid 50s later on today.

    Get well soon. Colds are no fun.

    • Helen says:

      Thank you, Lavinia. Put up the new tent this afternoon to see if we could do it but didn’t get half the gardening chores I’d hoped done.

      Maybe you could start a few seeds indoors?

  3. Kalamain says:

    Do you have a thermostat in the shed at all? To see if it stays warmish or not.
    Hope you feel better soon.

    • Helen says:

      Thank you!

      No, I don’t have a thermometer but am thinking about getting one. It’s always warmer in the shed than outside, though.

  4. I hope you are feeling better, Helen. I’m traveling so not online much this week. Take good care.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

