Peas and a net

Well, in the evening yesterday, I finally summoned the energy to fertilise the area where the artichokes grow with solids from the bokashi bin. Then, as dusk was falling, I realised I had got my second wind but of course by that time it was too late for more than planning what I would next.

In the event, there wasn’t time to do everything I would have liked this evening either – my daughter was well and truly hungry after a full day at playscheme, so juggling meal preparations with henna painting meant just the peas got sorted.


I’ve not used netting before to hold peas up… goodness knows why as it seems a lot more sensible than trying to keep the plants up with canes alone. However, before the plants get to the point where they need something to hang onto, I hope the pigeons don’t make a meal of them like they did a couple of years ago.

I think I’d better nip out and put the drawers which I saved from the old fridge freezer over them. It won’t cover them all but I might sleep more easily!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Peas and a net

  1. Kalamain says:

    The problem work pea nets is that you have to spend ages when they ages cleaning the dead biomatter off or dump the while lot in the bin.
    Chicken wire is better and will last a few seasons.

  2. I hope you enjoy those peas, Helen! We missed planting ours again, as we forgot they have to be planted in winter here! Next year we’ll grow tons!

    • Helen says:

      Shame about the peas! I hope you remember next year, Kathy. So far, my peas seem fine, so hopefully they will go unscathed by beak 😉.

  3. Freezer drawers sound like a good idea. Better to protect a few than none.

  4. Karen says:

    Hope you rather than the birds end up with a bountiful crop of delicious peas. 🙂

  5. I have peas growing out back. I must have tossed in some old seeds thinking they may or may not grow. At first I thought it was a new variety of sweet peas (the flowering kind) but now I’m seeing all the plump pods. It’s exciting. Nothing like fresh peas, eh?

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

