Over the Pennines

It never fails to amaze me how just one night away from home can feel like a week when you get back. Even though I feel somewhat bedraggled after driving some 200 miles, partly because I took a circuituous route through Sheffield to get to Hartington in the Peak District yesterday afternoon and then another getting out of Tatton Park to see friends in Didsbury, it was well worth it for the views.


My phone tells me the settlement in the above picture is Buxton but I wouldn’t discount Hartington as a possibility. The lambs in the next picture, however, were preoccupied with springing around the field and suckling off any ewe, related or not it would appear.


This afternoon, I was equally delighted with the gardens at Tatton Park – taken on a mini tour by a friend’s ten year old daughter. The hot house was one of the best features – can you see the citrus tree in the picture below? I believe it is a grafting of orange, lemon and grapefruit.


And who would want to be without Bill and Ben?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Days out, Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Over the Pennines

  1. Road trips are so much fun! You never know what you’re going to find. 🙂

    • Helen says:

      The weather was beautiful (oops, I even managed to get some sunburn), so it was perfect for taking in the scenery. Even driving through the back streets of Sheffield was an experience!

  2. Kalamain says:

    That was quite the trek… O.o

    Not been to Tatton Park since I left Manchester in the 90’s
    That hot house is new… I don’t remember that at all.

    Glad you had fun on the other side of them hills!

  3. I really agree that even going away for a night can feel like a real break – especially if you get the weather 🙂 Have a great Easter break

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

