Where have the April showers gone?

It was supposed to have rained today…. but nothing happened, except a cold wind. In fact, it hasn’t rained for at least two weeks and the ground is bone dry. Certainly, not great when you want to get seeds in the soil.

Last year, one of my carrots bolted, so I saved the seed in the hope that now I will have carrots that have naturalised to my environment. Not sure if it happens that quickly but it’s worth a try.


I have a few carrots growing from last autumn. Most of the seedlings were munched on by slugs, hence the meagre crop. In any case, what there is will be coming out very soon, so that I can put the last of the bokashi solids I currently have in what was the first hugel bed proper. You’d hardly think it was a hugel bed, though, would you, considering it has shrunk to nothing.

Anyway, there was nothing for it but to water the ground where I wanted the new carrots to go. Then I hoed in the seed rather than sowing in drills. The seeds tend to be so random, it seemed reasonable just to put the seed heads down and mix them up in the soil.

Now, of course it will rain, especially as it is the Easter holidays. Great if it does, from my point of view, as there are plenty more things I can do with damp soil!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Where have the April showers gone?

  1. andy1076 says:

    If you want rain we got nothing BUT here in Vancouver, you can have it all and send us sun! 😄

  2. Kalamain says:

    We had a bit of a spitting yesterday when I was putting up my new planters but that was it.

    My waterbutt is now empty and I’m considering filling it up from the tap and letting it sit for a couple of days to mellow and let the chlorine dissipate. It’s not a good answer but the best I can do for now.

    • Helen says:

      Yes, I’ve almost run out of water from storage (though I don’t have a water butt). I’ve been using water I washed veggies in but that’s not ideal either as it still has the chemicals in it.

      The forecast does say rain again tomorrow, which is fine by me anyway, as I’ll be on the road again.

  3. Pingback: It’s Raining – Kal's Gardening

  4. jeffpermie says:

    Another fact:
    they are already starting to digitally remaster old cartoons and movies to include the chemtrail clouds in the hopes that they can claim their existence is normal condensation trails, peope know that it is a recent anomaly but changing history will give them the advantage to perpetuate the lies, Jaws is one such movie that comes to mind, find and old VHS copy and the trails are nowhere to be seen!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

