Three for the price of one


Never in my life have I bought peat – not as pots or compost. I was therefore less than thrilled to see a gardening kit in my Christmas stocking which included such. 

In general, I try to make sure I get the most out of anything I buy, so add the fact that I now have peat on my property I’m making doubly sure it is used several times over. Thus, I am at least pleased that the pot featured above started off not only radishes but tomatoes and finally Brussel sprouts.

I’d got up early to pot on the sprout seedlings. They were on the verge of outgrowing their starter pot and after building the coldframe it needed to be filled. So I now have far too many sprout seedlings: 12. But how likely are they to all grow and produce sprouts for me?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Three for the price of one

  1. Kalamain says:

    Don’t forget that you can rip up the peat pot at the end and bury it below a plant to give it a small amount of fertiliser to get it going.

    No idea on the sprouts… Never done them.

  2. gaiainaction says:

    I always look upon Brussel sprouts as mini cabbages and love them, adding a little butter after cooking! Hope you get to enjoy yours Helen 🙂 Have a nice Easter break.

  3. Cecilia says:

    Thanks, I learned something about peat I didn’t know.

  4. Helen, why is peat bad for the garden? This is news to me.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

