Deadheading for Dad

Yesterday, my daughter and I helped my dad out round the garden by deadheading the daffodils and other spring flowers past their best. I’d never thought to deadhead daffodils and some of mine are doing decidedly badly, so I think I will give it a go.

Anyway, whilst doing the deadheading, I came across a patch of nettles, which I pulled out and kept to make soup at home. There wasn’t quite enough, so this morning I picked some leaves off my own nettle patch and was surprised to find what I thought were aphids.


As I didn’t have gloves on at the time, I haven’t been able to get a brilliant shot, but under those leaves are what appear to be black eggs. I wondered if they might be ladybird eggs, so was disappointed when I looked on the internet and learned that their eggs are yellow.

However, still exciting is the possibility that the eggs are from the Peacock butterfly (Inachis io). I may not get to see the butterflies, should they emerge, but it’s nice to think I might be helping them out.

Another discovery of sorts is seeing the wild garlic coming into bloom. Ironic that the anemones blooming next to the garlic also have white flowers!


Talking of flowers, there was a fantastic display of tulips at Clumber Park yesterday. I didn’t take any photos of them, although I am sure you can use your imagination. Instead, I took photos of the following:

I wonder if they ever run out of pots?


Tomatoes doing well – if only I had space for such a greenhouse on the back of my house.


You wouldn’t be running out of rhubarb would you? I noticed in another section that quite a few rhubarb plants were flowering.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Days out, Gardening, Wildlife and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Deadheading for Dad

  1. Kalamain says:

    Why would you deadhead a daffie?.. Other than neatness that is.

    Nettles of all kinds are loved by butterflies and moths. Didn’t know they laid eggs on them too.

  2. plot34 says:

    I deadheaded yesterday. I also harvested the nettles for fertiliser tea, but didn’t check for eggs first. Now I have guilt ;/

    • Helen says:

      I think you might have noticed if there were eggs on the nettles. Once I saw the eggs and found out the caterpillars would need the leaves for food, I was glad I had only taken a few leaves myself.

  3. It will be interesting to check on those eggs to see what emerges. Are you keeping watch? This morning’s paper is warning of mosquito eggs and what follows after our heavy, heavy rains. I’m remaining diligent.

    • …but meant to add that they lay eggs on standing water not plants.

    • Helen says:

      You mean because of Zika?

      • Here the bigger concern is West Nile Virus:

        Last year there were 442 cases of West Nile reported in California, with 10 of those in the nine-county Bay Area.

        For me it’s simply the misery of all those bits. With my fair skin and red hair, I’m more susceptible. Apparently pale skin is thinner and therefore easier to pierce for a blood meal. Lucky me, eh? My husband, who has a Latin heritage never seems to get a single bite.

        • Helen says:

          Yikes! I have the same misery, although English mosquitoes are less vicious than most. I’ve just read that WNV is present in Europe, although I hadn’t heard of it till now. What do you do to protect yourself?

          • My best line of defense is to come indoors at dusk. That’s when they bite the most. They’re not present in the early morning or mid day hours so that helps a lot. They’ve managed to bite me through my clothes if you can imagine. It’s horrible if one makes it indoors. They’re stealth biters. You’re in trouble before you even know they’re indoors. We also have citronella candles for the garden but they smell terrible. I wish some of the natural deterrents worked better, but for me, avoiding them seems to be the only tried and true method.

          • Helen says:

            Yes, avoidance is the best policy 😉

  4. We haevn’t been out much for the last few weeks – really should get up to Clumber!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

