Native bluebells?

This morning, whilst picking nettles for soup and cordial in a lane (bridleway) just by my house, I noticed some bluebells.


My first thought was one of dismay, that Spanish bluebells were everywhere. However, I’m not so sure they are the Spanish variety. They are definitely a different colour from the ones in my garden. The leaves are also different, slender and a less intense green.

I’d like to think they were native flowers but I can hardly imagine a small cluster seemingly remote from other English bluebells can really be this variety. So, perhaps they are a hybrid, or are affected by the shade under the trees.

Another mystery is the wood I saw stacked up by the back fence of a house that borders with the path. Is the owner of the fence doing this deliberately as a type of insulation from noise (not sure what noise) or is some other individual tidying up with nowhere else to take the branches. 


Oh well, the gentleman listening to music who passed as I was picking nettles may have been equally puzzled by my actions.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in foraging and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Native bluebells?

  1. andy1076 says:

    Blue bells are definitely among my favourites, They are beautiful even if they tend to grow all over 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

