Up with the garden path: Completion!

In April 2013, I decided to tackle the path, running down the bottom right of the garden, which was an unsightly space filled with pebbles and weeds. I couldn’t even pull the wheelie bins over it to get them out for collection.

I can hardly believe it has taken me four years, almost to the day, since my daughter and I took up the flagstones which were causing such an obstruction and started collecting the pebbles (which I sold for a pound on EBay).

Now, not only do I have a shed over what was this path but the brown bin has gone and the other two collosal wheelie bins (one for landfill, the other for recycling) are neatly hidden behind the shed. 

The final touch came when I lifted a 3 foot by 2 foot flagstone, which had been placed on decent soil right by the back fence. I had actually built a hugel bed here, before I decided to put the flagstone down. But now the ground is once more useable, the third clump of wild garlic I got from Old Sleningford has been planted.


Overall, I have still got a large amount of work to do in order to get the garden where I want it to be. However, there is a huge sense of satisfaction in what I have just achieved!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Up with the garden path: Completion!

  1. andy1076 says:

    Flagstones sure has been your nemesis lately huh! lol

  2. Lavinia Ross says:

    Congratulations, Helen!

  3. That is satisfying. You’ve worked hard to get here. I’m glad you’re reaping some of those rewards.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

