The price of chard

At the weekend, I visited a friend who has guinea pigs. Thus, I saw a way of doing her a favour and relieving my garden of a vegetable which had grown so profusely over the last year that I really can’t eat enough to keep up with supply.


The photo above shows the patch of chard after it had been culled. Yet I hardly made a dent in the amount of available foliage and still managed to fill a carrier bag (remember those?) to hand over this morning.

I don’t actually know the cost of how much I gave away but considering it is organic, I reckon it must have been somewhere in the region of £5-£10 worth of chard. It shows that if you get the produce right you can certainly save quite a bit by growing your own. The trick for me therefore seems to be getting a greater variety of food that I want.

PS WordPress has just told me it is my fifth anniversary of blogging. I wish I had been able to capture the sight I came home to this evening: a pigeon sunbathing on my fence. It was clearly very much enjoying the experience. So glad I am able to blog about this fitting end to the day!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The price of chard

  1. Congratulations on the five years! And the chard, which looks great.

  2. mortaltree says:

    Congrats on five years! I started about this time of year too. Looking forward to the your years of blogging to come I hope.

    • Helen says:

      It’s been an interesting journey, developing ideas of what I want from the garden as well as learning so much about individual plants and animals.

  3. gaiainaction says:

    Yes Helen, great about your five years on blogging! Well done!

  4. Lavinia Ross says:

    Congratulations on 5 years, Helen! Yes, the garden saves quite a bit of money in season.

  5. Happy anniversary, Helen! That’s a terrific milestone. How nice to know you’ve made a Guinea pig happy while saving your friend some cash in the process. AND you’ve cleared your garden for something new.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

