First day of the month (Greening up)

The other day we had sleet/hailstones which dampened the garden a little. In spite of the lack of rain (I’ve just heard on the news that we’ve had less than half the usual rainfall for this time of year), the plants in the back garden are flourishing. For example, the strawberries are getting quite tall and starting to flower, even in the patch by the back door, which tends to be the driest area of all.

There are also now tiny broad bean pods developing and the cloches will be coming off the peas in the near future. I think the seakale is coming up, although never having grown it before, I wouldn’t like to say if the seedlings are this or something else yet. 

The lemon balm is going crazy, particularly the one in a pot, so the roots must be seeking water in the ground, as the potted mints are faring rather poorly in comparison. However, in the open ground it is apparent I won’t be short this year. So, lots more lemon balm and mint cordial on the way as well as plenty of tea. 

Other returnees are fennel and currants, the latter already affected by something that like a wool on the stems where the leaves form, with the leaves curling up. However, there are still flowers on them, so hopefully I will get a few tasty berries this year (as I did during the last).

Garden on 1st April

Garden on 1st May

And I couldn’t finish this post without mentioning the rhubarb, which has filled quite some space, as well as the blossom on both the crab apple and the reinette orleans. Every time I see a bee, I will her to visit both of these trees and spread the love.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, herbs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First day of the month (Greening up)

  1. andy1076 says:

    Glad the hail didn’t harm the garden, They do come down pretty darn hard 😀

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

