Once a week baby!

My rhubarb crown is now seven years old. I got it after buying a few sticks of organic rhubarb from a farm on the way to Harrogate and paid something in the region of £7 for the pleasure. Now, it is a pleasure but as far as I remember the crown I went on to buy the same day, once I’d recovered from the shock, at most cost me only the same!

How much has the crown saved me? Well, a hundreds of pounds, I would guess. It was a long wait till it was ready for serious production. In the first year, I refrained from picking any of it and in the second year, I was very cautious with consumption. Even in the third year, there wasn’t much to really impress me but in the last couple of years I’ve been picking it at least once a week.


It’s safe to say that so far it is one of my best investments ever. So, if you like rhubarb and haven’t already got yourself a crown I’d encourage you to get one as soon as you can.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Once a week baby!

  1. I love rhubarb. But I’m not sure how well it would thrive in a container.

    • Helen says:

      My rhubarb started out in a container as there was nowhere to put it (the garden as that time being all lawn and bushes. I think it can be done longer term if you feed it well.

  2. Happy birthday, Rhubarb!

  3. skyeent says:

    I tried forcing mine for the first time this year – wow! It was great. I’m thinking they need dividing again now, maybe this winter.

    • Helen says:

      I think forcing weakens the rhubarb, so I wonder if dividing them would do more harm than good. I know you won’t be able to pick rhubarb from the plants next year. Anyway, I’m glad you enjoyed the forced rhubarb.

      • skyeent says:

        Yes. I have three established clumps and the dustbin I used only covered part of one clump, so I could afford to lose the potential crop for next year.

        • Helen says:

          That sounds great!

          • skyeent says:

            It’s lovely – I make rhubarb chutney and rhubarb and ginger jam as well as rhubarb crumble…We’re lucky. Space isn’t something we’re short of at least!

          • Helen says:

            I wish I had your space…. I add rhubarb to my strawberry jam – feedback from friends and family is that the rhubarb adds an extra bit of umph. Not tried rhubarb chutney but that sounds a fab idea.

          • skyeent says:

            I add apple to my strawberrry jam (not home grown strawberries I’m afraid) – it helps the set!

          • Helen says:

            Yes, I’m moving on to apples instead of bought pectin. For some other types of jam and jelly, I’ve found this works much better, as well (i.e. the bought pectin made the jellies like rubber).

          • skyeent says:

            It also bulks out the precious strawberries! I usually cook it separately and then add the pulp at the same time as the sugar.

          • Helen says:

            You mean you cook the apples separately?

          • skyeent says:

            Yes, apples in one pan, strawberries (or whatever) in another, then combine when both are cooked. It just seems to work better for me like that

          • Helen says:

            That’s something I will bear in mind.

  4. Kalamain says:

    I think I will be able to pick a couple of stems this year.
    One has broken off in the winds we have been having over the past couple of days, which was a little annoying. But as long as I keep a couple of big leaves on it I think it should be fine.

    • Helen says:

      My words, the wind must have been rough as rhubarb is very tough!

      One of my colleagues was inspired to get a rhubarb crown last year after I gave her some of mine and she discovered the difference between homegrown and shop-bought. She was disappointed to learn, that she would be getting a huge crop this year.

      • Kalamain says:

        The wind gets funneled down our street and sometimes can get quite gusty at times.
        I have noticed that my rhubarb is far better than shop bought… But then all home grown stuff tends to be…. Well.. Apart from the outright fails. B-)

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

