The sweet smell of apple blossom

I’ve just been watching pairs of pigeons fighting/courting. One of example of how much more entertaining the garden can be in comparison with television.

The other main joy today has been smelling the apple blossom. Why I’ve never before thought to put my nose in the flowers before I don’t know. It was heavenly. And whilst enjoying the aroma, I had the pleasure of watching a bee (a solitary kind, I think) collecting nectar.

Elsewhere in the garden, I watch as the soil gets drier and drier. I emptied the last of the water from the food recycling bin from the council, which I haven’t needed as such since getting the bokashi. It didn’t go very far but at least the apple tree got a little as well as some of the veg.


In view of the weather forecast predicting no rain for at least another week, I also thought it was time to put some water in the lid of the finishing off compost bin, which the birds love to visit. Hopefully, it won’t all have evaporated by tomorrrow morning.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The sweet smell of apple blossom

  1. andy1076 says:

    Nature TV right outside your door in your garden, can’t go wrong πŸ˜ƒ

  2. It’s been exceptionally dry here too – my water butts all empty. We need a little rain, preferably at night so we can enjoy the sunshine

  3. skyeent says:

    I have to say I’ve just been enjoying the dry weather this week! May be the only chance I get to wear my shorts this year!

    • Helen says:

      Hopefully not!

      The dry weather is great in terms of enjoying the outdoors. We just haven’t had any rain for weeks here – the barest amount of drizzle – so we are sorely in need of moisture before summer.

      • skyeent says:

        Ah, we’ve just had less than a fortnight dry. The surface springs are drying out and the river is quite low. I hope you get rain soon and that I get to wear my shorts again!

        • Helen says:

          On Saturday, whilst we were walking in the woods, my friend remarked that the slopes should have had water coming down them. In fact, there was nothing.

          Let’s hope for plenty of rain at night and beautiful sunshine during the day!

  4. I”m sorry to hear about the dry spell, Helen. It’s worrisome. We get 95% of our rain between November and May, then go four to five months without a drop. I was lamented to a friend this morning that I wish we would get even an hour of rain once a week. Best of luck. I’m glad you took a strong whiff of our apple blossoms.

    • Helen says:

      It is indeed worrisome that we haven’t got any rain, especially after a dry winter. At least it has been cool, mostly, but that could change from now on.

      Yes, it would great if you could get some rain on a weekly basis. It would no doubt make a difference to your gardens and agriculture. If these weather patterns continue here in the U.K., we’ll have to look at alternative ways of growing, that’s for sure.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

