Scythes and stepping stones

After a weekend of outdoors activity, I am weary but revitalised. Yesterday, we took a trip to Hebden Bridge. Even though I had visited the town several times, I’d never ventured out to the mill at Hardcastle Crags, so that was the plan for the day.

Some parts of the journey had less water than others. How soft do you think the mud in the following picture was?

On the other hand, at least Hebden Water still had something flowing along it.

The stepping stones were such fun!

Today, the outdoor experience has been somewhat different. In spite of the lack of rainfall, the wild flowers at Old Sleningford Farm looked a picture.

Forget-me-nots in the forest garden

And elsewhere there was enough grass and nettles for me try my hand at scything. I had not used a scythe before, given that I think I am allergic to grass and normally the opportunity arises when it is full of pollen. However, the only thing I can ‘complain’ about today is toning up my muscles.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Days out, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Scythes and stepping stones

  1. Sharon says:

    Looks like fun.

  2. ….But hard not to think of Poldark now and the scything scene!! Would love to go to Hebden Bridge – hear really good things about it.

    • Helen says:

      Hebden Bridge is an interesting place. Most of the shops and other commercial outlets are independent – which certainly gives the town centre a different flavour. It’s also pretty and seemingly well looked after, with quirky building styles. And of course it is easy to get into the countryside!

      No doubt there is also a lot of culture but I’ve not really had the opportunity to explore any of that.

  3. The wild flowers are beautiful and so is (your daughter?) walking across those amazing stones. The mud looks sink-worthy. Did you lose a boot? 😉

    • Helen says:

      Thank you for the compliments 😀. Yes, that’s my daughter, enjoying the last vestiges of young(ish) childhood.

      I’m so pleased you answered the question – I wondered if anyone would! Anyway, as it happens, the mud was actually dry, which shows you have lacking in rain we’ve been…

      • That’s dry mud? I would have never guessed. Is your daughter heading into the tween years? It’s a rough and tumble time, but everyone assures me they “come back” when fully grown. Enjoy these moments.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

