Even the succulents are dying

Today there were a few spots of rain. Actually, on the surface, in some parts of the garden the soil went dark brown. And not wanting to miss the opportunity of dampened soil, I got my spade out and made a hole to put a lavender bush my dad had given me in.


There didn’t appear to be a drop of moisture in the soil. Perhaps this area is drier because there is less organic matter than other parts – but I was shocked. Furthermore, as I planted the bush, I noticed that the sempervivum my dad had recently given me looked as though it was on its way out.

In other words, it looks like I’m going to have to keep watering, as the soil moisture isn’t likely to improve any time soon otherwise.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Even the succulents are dying

  1. You really are struggling with the weather. It doesn’t seem long ago that you had terribly flooding and now the exact opposite. You’ve reversed our predicament of years of drought, followed by rain all at once. I hope the skies open up soon. Good luck!

  2. Hope the rain comes soon.

  3. Lavinia Ross says:

    Wish I could send you some of our rain, Helen!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

