Citizen Science: Week One

First of all, the brilliant news is that it rained last night and it seems that everything has grown since then. Of course, it won’t be enough but maybe this next week will give us some useful top-ups.

At least, my garden doesn’t have a slope, so there isn’t a puddle at the bottom with nought at the top. It’s not exactly rocket science for me to work this out but I still did a slope measurement this morning for the Grow Observatory course I am current embarked on.

This entailed finding a suitable app on the phone so that a reading could be taken. And then lots of fiddling about to get a plausible reading.


I could have, instead, gone for the two sticks method of measuring, which would have entailed drawing a fancy diagram with degrees marked on it. The neighbours think I’m bonkers, already, so there would hardly have been any great embarrassment in this, but time is of the essence.

In all, I must have spent about ten hours on the MOOC, which fortunately was quite engrossing. Maybe I could have essued the discussions but there are a lot of interesting people taking the course and I’ve undoubtedly learned a lot from them as well.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Citizen Science: Week One

  1. gaiainaction says:

    Rain here too since last night Helen, refreshing! The garden is very happy 🙂

  2. What an interesting course, Helen. I’m looking forward to hearing more. I’m so glad you got some rain!

    • Helen says:

      And it rained again last night 😊. As for the course, it is great to be involved in some action research, even though I am more of a participant than a researcher. There are going to be more courses/ways to be involved in the future, so it will be interesting to see how things develop.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

