The results are in

Earlier in the week, I did a practice soil test with material from the front garden. The result for this was that the A-Horizon (top soil) was something like sandy loam but I felt certain my B-Horizon (sub-soil) was some sort of clay.

Anyway, I decided not to test out this theory as I wanted to sow seeds while the ground was wet – and I was supposed to be investigating the forest garden for the MOOC, having chosen this parcel of land last week. So, this afternoon, I dug the requisite hole by the shed and got more than one surprise.


First, I was intrigued to see how deep the strawberry roots went, as I’d imagined them to be a shallow-rooted plant. There were also very few stones, except in the B-Horizon, which turned out to be remarkably easy to dig into. Not one bit like clay.


Sandy loam perhaps? Maybe even loamy sand but it did seem a bit stickier than sand. However, it is clear that the soil is not the nutrient-packed medium I imagined it to be. But why don’t carrots like it?

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Permaculture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The results are in

  1. Helen, I heard the beginning of a call in show on soil late last week. I need to go back and listen to the whole thing as it was fascinating. If I can find the link, I’ll share.

  2. To be honest I grow all my carrots in containers and use purchased potting compost. Anything else always seems to bring problems.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

